Title: The Deification.

The Deification is the first book of the series, The California Quartet— Valley Boy, The Book of Changes, and Trio of Lost Souls. To be released in 2012.
Author: Jack Remick
Copyright: © 2011 Jack Remick
Cover Design: Anne Sweet
Publisher: Coffeetown Press, Seattle, WA
Available for Purchase:  December 10, 2011 at Amazon.com.
The Kindle edition retails for $5.95. Other eBook versions can be purchased on Smashwords and through most major eBook retailers.
Wholesale orders can be placed through info@coffeetownpress.com and Ingram.
Libraries can also purchase books through Follett Library Resources or Midwest Library Services.

Author’s Notes:

To be a writer in America, you have to bleed. Eddie Iturbi, a young car-thief obsessed with the dark magic of Beat culture in a mythic San Francisco, sets off on a spaced-out crusade to connect with the Beat gods. En route Eddie links up with living legend Leo Franchetti, the last of the Beat poets. Leo sends Eddie to the Buzzard Cult, where a mysterious mentor reveals the writer’s ritual of blood and words. Changed and invigorated and back in the City, Eddie falls in love with a snake dancer at the Feathered Serpent. She can’t save him from Scarred Wanda, jealous bad-girl of literature, whose goal is to destroy Eddie before Jack Kerouac relays all the magical secrets of the literary universe. Immortality is just a book away. Will Eddie live long enough to write it?

Says Remick, “I grew up in California’s Central Valley. The Valley was huge but stifling. If you climbed the water tower one foggy night and the cops hauled you down, it made the local newspaper. Your one goal was a customized car with a flame job and flipper hubcaps. You wore Levis or Chinos and you cut your hair short. And then along came Jack Kerouac. Right behind him came William Burroughs, Gregory Corso, Allen Ginsberg …. On The Road  and the Beatniks set me free. Get out of the Valley, they said. Go find your America. And some of us did. …. This novel,  The Deification, pays homage to those wild men whose vision of the world opened up the social revolution of the 1960s. They changed me. They changed you. They changed everything.”

Jack Remick  is a poet, short story writer, and novelist. The Deification is the first book of a series, The California Quartet. More volumes will be released by Coffeetown Press in 2012:  Valley Boy, The Book of Changes, and Trio of Lost SoulsBlood, A Novel was published by Camel Press in 2011. Also coming from Coffeetown in 2012: Gabriela and the Widow. You can find Jack online at blood.camelpress.com.

May Release: Valley Boy –  Book Two of The California Quartet